UPCOMING MUSIC
Dance Asheville

Fri, Jul 21 · art rock · classical · eclectic · electronic · grunge · indie · jazz · local · pop · rock · synth

Tin Foil Hat
w/ Xero God, ILLPO & Tide Eyes
9:30pm at The Mothlight
($5)

Asheville-based Tin Foil Hat's music is fresh while teetering on the tight rope between pop and "music for musicians" ... perhaps what would happen if J.S. Bach and Duke Ellington were to make a grunge album together using synthesizers.


Sun, Jul 23 · african · art rock · classical · electronic · indie · jazz · rock · singer-songwriter · synth · vocal

Koden
w/ Brucemont
7:30pm at Isis Music Hall

Koden combines Chill-Wave, Motown and African rhythms with post-modern classical chord changes and jazz vocal harmonies comparable to Steely Dan. With vocal styles reminiscent of Elliot Smith and Sade, the band, invokes an urban serene feel to its music. Recently released our self-titled debut album and are on a southeast tour this weekend wrapping up in Asheville on Sunday at Isis Music Hall.


Sun, Jul 30 · alternative · art rock · chamber · classical · electronic · fusion · indie · local · rock · singer-songwriter

Alex Travers
w/ Bless Your Heart
9:00pm at PULP
(21+, $7 members / $9 non-members)

Alex Travers is a musician living, teaching and working in the city of Asheville. Born 1991 in upstate NY, he was raised in the Raleigh area. While growing as a musician and individual he acquired his bachelors degree in violin performance from Appalachian State University. Throughout his upbringing and education, his work as a collaborative artist, arranger, performer, teacher, violinist and songwriter permeated into a variety of musical styles and genres. From Baroque to electronic, from studios to concert halls, his involvement is anything but bland. Absorbing every experience like a sponge, he is likely to squeeze the most out of any piece, performance or project he comes across. Musical influences include Phillip Glass, Elliott Smith, the Pixies, Andrew Bird, J.S. Bach, Buckethead, and many others.


your-add-in-content

Sun, Aug 6 · alternative · art rock · cello · classical · indie · pop · rock

Rasputina
w/ Eliza Rickman
8:00pm at The Grey Eagle
($17 adv / $20 DOS)
CANCELED

Pioneers in the use of cello as the sole instrument within a rock band, Rasputina has been inspiring young string players to commit a number of musical sins since 1996. The group's concept was written as a manifesto, and manifested accordingly by directress Melora Creager as a wily subterfuge for a plot to open audiences to adventure. The funny, the sad, the heavy, the tender - it can all exist together. Employing elaborate costuming spanning a number of historical periods, Rasputina brings marginalized historical female figures and stories to light in the pop form, using archetypal characters such as Indian princesses, Hawaiian handmaidens and Medieval queens.


Sun, Sep 17 · activist · alternative · americana · celtic · classical · fiddle · folk · indie · singer-songwriter

Gaelynn Lea
8:00pm at The Grey Eagle
($12 adv / $15 DOS)

Gaelynn Lea is a musician from Duluth, MN. She has been playing violin for over twenty years. First classically trained, she began learning traditional Celtic and American fiddle tunes at the age of 18. During her college years Gaelynn started sitting in with various folk/rock musicians and developed an improvisational style all her own. Eventually she also began singing and dabbling in songwriting. Gaelynn has a congenital disability called Osteogenesis Imperfecta, or Brittle Bones Disease. In recent years, she has used her music as a platform to advocate for people with disabilities and to promote positive social change.


Fri, Nov 24 · acoustic · americana · appalachian · bluegrass · classical · country · folk · guitar · jazz · roots

The Kruger Brothers – Night 1
8:30pm at Isis Music Hall
($28 adv / $32 DOS)

Originally from Switzerland, brothers Uwe and Jens Kruger began playing North American folk music at an early age and were particularly inspired by recordings of Doc Watson, Flatt and Scruggs, Bill Monroe, and other progenitors of country, bluegrass and folk music.


Sat, Nov 25 · acoustic · americana · appalachian · bluegrass · classical · country · folk · guitar · jazz · roots

The Kruger Brothers – Night 2
8:30pm at Isis Music Hall
($28 adv / $32 DOS)

Originally from Switzerland, brothers Uwe and Jens Kruger began playing North American folk music at an early age and were particularly inspired by recordings of Doc Watson, Flatt and Scruggs, Bill Monroe, and other progenitors of country, bluegrass and folk music.


  ▲ top
Promote on AMF

grey-eagle-logo

flickr  twitter  instagram

The Steel Woods
w/ The Dirty Soul Revival
Thu, Jul 20

Charles Latham
Free Show on the Patio
Thu, Jul 20

Corey Feldman and The Angels
w/ Joshua Carpenter & The Prey Tells
Fri, Jul 21

Jeff Thompson Giving Trio
w/ Ben Phan
Sat, Jul 22

Ian Ridenhour
w/ Goodfight & Zuzu Welsh Band
Sun, Jul 23

David Cook
w/ Kathryn Dean
Wed, Jul 26

The Nightowls
w/ Cam Stack Trio
Wed, Jul 26

The 50th Anniversary of Pink Floyd's Piper at the Gates of Dawn
w/ Alarm Clock Conspiracy, Sunshine and The Bad Things & Carpal Tullar
Sat, Jul 29

The Paper Crowns Band & Phuncle Sam
Jerry Garcia Birthday Bash
Tue, Aug 1

Spiritual Rez
Wed, Aug 2

Rasputina
w/ Eliza Rickman
Sun, Aug 6
CANCELED

Waxahatchee
w/ Palehound & Outer Spaces
Sun, Aug 13
Tickets now on sale

Roky Erickson
w/ Death Valley Girls
Sun, Sep 3
Tickets now on sale

The Church
w/ The Helio Sequence
Mon, Sep 25
Tickets now on sale

US Cellular Center logo

instagram  twitter  instagram

Clint Black
Thu, Sep 21

Father John Misty
w/ Weyes Blood
Mon, Sep 25

Buddy Guy
Tue, Sep 26

Sylvan Esso
w/ Helado Negro
Fri, Sep 29

The Head And The Heart
w/ The Shelters
Sat, Sep 30

Wilco
Mon, Oct 9
Tickets go on sale at 10am Friday, July 21

The Avett Brothers - Night 1
Fri, Oct 27

The Avett Brothers - Night 2
Sat, Oct 28

the-orange-peel-logo

facebook twitter instagram

Phantogram & Tycho
Presented by The Orange Peel at The Meadow (Highland Brewing) OUTDOOR SHOW
Fri, Jul 21

Ashley Heath
w/ Devils In Dust & The Great American
Sat, Jul 22

Zomboy
w/ Grandtheft & Ricky Remedy
Thu, Jul 27

A World Of Lies
Local Metal Showcase w/ Fractured Frames, Chaos Among Cattle & REdEFINED
Fri, Jul 28

Yo Mama's Big Fat Booty Band
w/ GFE
Sat, Jul 29

DJ Shadow
The Mountain Will Fall Tour w/ Teeko & Marley Carroll
Mon, Jul 31

Hellyeah
w/ Kyng & Cane Hill
Wed, Aug 2

ZOSO
The Ultimate Led Zeppelin Experience
Thu, Aug 3

Temptation’s Wings
w/ Through The Fallen & Low Earth
Fri, Aug 4

Chris Robinson Brotherhood
Thu, Aug 10

Drive-By Truckers - Night 1
w/ Lydia Loveless
Fri, Sep 22
Tickets now on sale

Drive-By Truckers - Night 2
w/ Lydia Loveless
Sat, Sep 23
Tickets now on sale

The Lone Bellow
Fri, Sep 29
Tickets now on sale

Dinosaur Jr.
w/ Easy Action
Tue, Oct 10
Tickets now on sale

Run The Jewels
w/ Denzel Curry CUZ Lightyear
Wed, Oct 11
SOLD OUT

The Jerry Douglas Band
Fri, Oct 13
Tickets now on sale

Slowdive
Fri, Nov 17
Tickets now on sale