Dance Asheville

Tue, Oct 3 · alternative · eclectic · funk · indie · instrumental · jazz · punk · r&b · rock · soul · vocal

Thundercat
9:00pm at The Orange Peel
(18+, $20 adv / $22 DOS)

THUNDERCAT is the alter ego of virtuosic bassist / singer Stephen Bruner. Bruner found his instrument at the age of 4. That made him a late-bloomer in the house of Ronald, Sr., who drummed with the Temptations among others. His first bass was a black Harmony, and he practiced to the Ninja Turtles soundtrack until pops played him Jaco Pastorius. He joined thrash legends Suicidal Tendencies as a teenager, and spent road and studio time with everyone from Stanley Clarke to Snoop Dogg to Erykah Badu. Eventually the name Thundercat stuck, a reference to the cartoon he’s loved since childhood and an extension of Bruner’s wide-eyed, vibrant, often superhuman approach to his craft.


Sun, Oct 8 · alternative · bluegrass · eclectic · folk · indie · old time · progressive

Horseshoes and Hand Grenades
w/ Kitchen Dwellers
9:00pm at New Mountain AVL
($12 / $15 DOS)

While strongly rooted in bluegrass, old-time, and folk music, Wisconsin-based Horseshoes and Hand Grenades produces a sound that draws on the vaults of music collectively and individually enjoyed throughout the course of their lives thus far. The music doesn’t lend itself well to categories or boundaries.


  ▲ top
Promote on AMF

grey-eagle-logo

flickr  twitter  instagram

The Church
w/ The Helio Sequence
Mon, Sep 25
Tickets now on sale

Scythian
Thu, Sep 28

The Queers
w/ The Ataris & The Indoor Kids
Sat, Sep 30

Greyhounds
Thu, Oct 12

Emily Saliers (of The Indigo Girls)
Murmuration Nation Tour
Wed, Oct 18

Unknown Hinson
Halloween Show
Tue, Oct 31

Red Baraat
Sun, Nov 12

US Cellular Center logo

instagram  twitter  instagram

Clint Black
Thu, Sep 21

Mark Chesnutt
Benefit the Asheville Fire Fighters’ Association
Sat, Sep 23

Father John Misty
w/ Weyes Blood
Mon, Sep 25

Buddy Guy
Tue, Sep 26

Sylvan Esso
w/ Helado Negro
Fri, Sep 29

The Head And The Heart
w/ The Shelters
Sat, Sep 30

Wilco
w/ Margaret Glaspy
Mon, Oct 9
Tickets now on sale

The Marshall Tucker Band
w/ Scooter Brown Band
Sun, Oct 22

The Avett Brothers - Night 1
Fri, Oct 27

The Avett Brothers - Night 2
Sat, Oct 28

Gladys Knight and Friends
w/ Little Big Town & Lyric
Sun, Oct 29
Tickets on sale at 10am Tuesday, Aug 29

Bon Iver
Sat, Nov 4
Tickets on sale at 10am Friday, Aug 25

the-orange-peel-logo

facebook twitter instagram

Broken Social Scene
w/ Belle Game
Thu, Sep 21

Drive-By Truckers - Night 1
w/ Lydia Loveless
Fri, Sep 22
Tickets now on sale

Drive-By Truckers - Night 2
w/ Lydia Loveless
Sat, Sep 23
Tickets now on sale

Liars
Sun, Sep 24

Eagles Of Death Metal
Thu, Sep 28

The Lone Bellow
w/ Mt. Joy
Fri, Sep 29
Tickets now on sale

Crystal Castles
Sun, Oct 1
Tickets now on sale

Thundercat
Tue, Oct 3

Liquid Stranger
w/ Manic Focus, Russ Liquid & Freddy Todd
Fri, Oct 6

Chris Knight
Sat, Oct 7

Dinosaur Jr.
w/ Easy Action
Tue, Oct 10
Tickets now on sale

Run The Jewels
w/ Denzel Curry CUZ Lightyear
Wed, Oct 11
SOLD OUT

Thievery Corporation
w/ Zach Deputy
Thu, Oct 12
SOLD OUT

The Jerry Douglas Band
Fri, Oct 13
Tickets now on sale

Hiss Golden Messenger
Fri, Oct 20
Tickets now on sale

North Mississippi Allstars
w/ Danielle Nicole
Sat, Nov 4
Tickets now on sale

Slowdive
Fri, Nov 17
Tickets now on sale

Kamasi Washington
Sun, Dec 3
Tickets now on sale

Angel Olsen
w/ White Magic
Sat, Dec 16
Tickets now on sale